International Organisations

International Federation of National Teaching Fellows The IFNTF is comprised of the growing body of the world¹s finest teachers, launched on September 8, 2016.  The Federation is an independent, volunteer and stand-alone organization not affiliated with any particular country or countries, but representing individual Teaching Fellows  from regions who have Teaching Fellow programs. The Vice-Chair Australia is Professor Dawn Bennett, Curtin University.

Higher Education Research and Development Society of Australasia (HERDSA) HERDSA is a scholarly society for people committed to the advancement of higher and tertiary education. It promotes the development of higher education policy, practice and the study of teaching and learning.

International Consortium for Educational Development (ICED)  ICED promotes educational and academic development in higher education world-wide. ICED is a network whose members are themselves national organisations or networks concerned with promoting good practice in higher education.

Australasian Council on Open, Distance and e-Learning (ACODE) ACODE is the peak Australasian organisation for universities engaged or interested in flexible and e-learning. Their mission is to enhance policy and practice in Australasian higher education around technology enhanced learning and teaching at institutional, national and international levels.

International Statistical Institute (ISI) (Helen MacGillivray, ISI Vice-President)

International Association for Statistics Education (IASE)

Association of National Teaching Fellows (ANTF)

New Zealand

The Ako Aotearoa Academy is made up of winners of national tertiary teaching excellence awards in New Zealand

Ako Aotearoa website:

Ako Aotearoa Academy website:

National Organisations

Australian Government
Office for Learning and Teaching

Collaborative Universities Biomedical Education Network (CUBENET)

Higher Education Academy (HEA)  HEA is the national body for enhancing learning and teaching in higher education (HE). We are committed to excellent learning and teaching, supporting UK HE organisations with an emphasis on improving the student experience.

Music Australia Music Australia is the new name for the Music Council of Australia – advancing all aspects of music across the country.

Australian Learning and Teaching Discipline Scholars Network

Contact Wendy Fountain at


State Organisations

South Australia and Northern Territory State/Territory-based Promoting Excellence Network (SANTPEN)
Lead Institution: Flinders University
Network Coordinator: Ms Helen Stephenson

State-based Promoting Excellence Networks – Victoria/Tasmania
Lead Institution: Monash University
Network Coordinator: Associate Professor Angela Carbone

State-based Promoting Excellence Networks – NSW/ACT
Lead Institution: The University of New South Wales
Network Coordinator: Professor Stephen Marshall

Q-PEN – Queensland Promoting Excellence Network
Lead Institution: Griffith University
Network Coordinator: Ms Karen van Haeringen

Western Australian Network for Dissemination (WAND)
Lead Institution: Murdoch University
Network Coordinator: Associate Professor Rob Phillips

Curtin Academy

Lead Institution: Curtin University


Key supporters

Professor Jane den Hollander, Vice Chancellor, Deakin University

Professor Anne Cummins, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Students, learning and teaching), Australian Catholic University

Emeritus Professor Adrian Lee

Professor Margaret Gardner, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT), Vice Chancellor & President.

Professor Debbie Terry, University of Queensland, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic, DVCA)